What board for an awkwardly shaped intermdiate? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2010, 11:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Dave8

Default What board for an awkwardly shaped intermdiate?

Hi! I have been snowboarding for 2/3 years and after renting boards I am looking to buy my own. I am 6ft 5' and weigh 175lbs, I have size 14 boots and want a board that will primarliy be able to charge down groomers with ease but one that won't compromise on the powder and in the park.

I was recommended an Artec Phenom 163cm due to it being extra wide for my boots, but I was concerned when I read that it is for Advanced to Expert riders and that it was mid/ stiff flex; I'm fairly good but still make mistakes and so would prefer a mid/ soft flex board around 158-164. I am interested in the
Burton Bullet
Burton Deuce
Burton Mayhem
Ride Antic
K2 Podium

are any of these right for me or are they right about the Phenom?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-18-2010, 02:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

You'll definitely want a wide board... any board that's not a wide is probably going to have you hanging WAY off the edges... (I'm an 11 and a half and I'm pretty close even with my duck stance on some boards).

I'd stay away from the Bullet, it's pretty flexible for a directional all mountain board (and to be honest, you'll outgrow it soon if not already).