Noob checking in... - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2010, 05:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-

Default Noob checking in...

Hey everyone. I'm new to the site & started snowboarding this past winter. I picked it up fairly quickly only because I have some experience wake boarding, and I've ski'd frequently before. By NO means am I trying to toot my own horn, just saying. Anyway, I'm looking to upgrade from my current board that I just bought this January (see sig). I didn't really have any problems with it, until I rode a demo board (K2 Brigade) and felt the difference. The K2 felt like it was 1/2 the weight of my Salomon, and just felt like it responded much better (it was a 152, not sure if the 1cm difference between it & my board would make that much of a difference). I've researched that board & I guess it's classified as a 'beginner' board, which is similar to my Salomon Ace's classification, if I'm correct. I'm looking for a board I can 'graduate into'. I'm usually on groomed runs, some ungroomed, and want to start learning to jump, but nothing too crazy. I've gone out to Breckenridge, CO & had a blast there & I'll definitely be going back. I've researched a few Burton boards (Supermodel X, Flying V) some NS boards (Evo, SLR, Legacy) and looked closely at the Salomon Special II board. I'm just wondering if I'm looking at the right stuff. I'm 5'9" and weigh 150. Not a big guy. I've found the best sizes for me range from 153-156 (correct me if I'm wrong). I prefer speed & carving over doing tricks, jumps, etc. Am I looking at the right stuff?

Last edited by gunner252; 07-15-2010 at 05:59 PM.
gunner252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-15-2010, 06:43 PM   #2 (permalink)