Snowboard Lenght - Don't know who to listen to =/ - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2010, 11:35 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Snowboard Lenght - Don't know who to listen to =/

Hi there,

So I'm a Beginner to snowboarding, and I just bought my 1st board online. I'm 5' 11", 176 lb

First I bought a 158 board, but I decided to return it because it was a Wide and I don't need one. When I e-mailed the store about returning it, the guy told me that a 158 was too big for me, and that I should look into something smaller like 153-156. So I returned that board and got a 155.

Today I went to their store to buy a pair of boots, and after I got them I asked the guy what did he think about the size of the board I got. He told me to definitely return it and get a bigger one.

Now I'm in this situation. I don't know what to do. They have the same board i got in 158, and I'm not sure if I should get it or stick to mine.

I know the length is sort of personal preference also, but I can't wait for the season to start to decide it, because I won't be able to return it anymore =/

I just wanted you guys to give me some kind of advice on what to do. Maybe someone with a body similar to mine could tell me what size they ride? I remember a guy here telling me that he has a body similar to mine and rides a 155 for all mountain.

I appreciate your help guys...
Liqvid is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-02-2010, 11:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

56-58 should be fine for you as a beginner considering your weight. You probably don't even know what kind of riding you want to do yet...

You want to size down for a park stick and size up for a powder or more freeride type of board

You're probably getting the size differences because the two guys have different riding styles