About Burton boards... - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2008, 02:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Joao Ilheu

Default About Burton boards...

I was told Burton boards are somehow overrated... I was told they don't last long. Is it true?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-16-2008, 03:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
libtech

So I've been snowboarding for about 6 years. Burton used to make a nice board but lately they have been more concerned with makeing money then a good board. For example every Burton board has a dimond shaped screw pattern for the bindings, which forces you to buy their bindings. I personally think theeir boards are way to overpriced.
Old 01-16-2008, 03:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-

No. Neither is true.

Burton makes high-end and low-end stuff, like every other company. You get what you pay for. Burton is the "wal-mart" of the snowboard world. Hence, other company's make fun of them, and the cool-kids at the mountain like to bash them b/c they are "corporate." Note, however, that Burton is privatlly owned company, and is not a subsidary of a large ski company like other "cool" snowboard brands are. Often the people who say Burton sucks have never ridden their boards, or if they have, are just looking for a reason to justify a pre-exisitng idea they had about the company. Think about it, if Burton's board fell apart, they would not be one of the oldest, and the biggest, brand in the snowboard industry. People won't by crap once the word gets out (i.e. chinese toys, at the moment).