Good Beginner Boards for my Fiance - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2010, 03:17 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Good Beginner Boards for my Fiance

So I have been snowboarding for about 7 years and I am pretty fluent with the brands and styles...for guys. When it comes to women, embarassingly, I dont really know much about the "other" brands.

I am looking for a good starter board for my fiance. We went boarding about 6 times last year and she used rentals, as we all know, if you can ride a rental you can ride almost anything. Any way, she is about 5'5" and 125 lbs. She rode a 143 last year but I am thinking about looking at a 145 or 146. She knows how to carve but thats about it. I want a freeride board that will hold up to beatings but I am not looking for something starting at $600 from Burton or Neversummer.

I am looking at a few boards from Dub, Tech Nine and LTD. In your infinite opinions, would these be alright starter brands for her or should I look for something else.

Thanks to all of you for your help!

->Ty<-
150 Rome SDS Artifact
Burton Moto Bindings
DC Sharkskin Boots
TyNeusch is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-10-2010, 03:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-

Since you mentioned Technine, it is worth mentioning that T9 women's boards have won Transworld Good Wood 6 years in a row and have 10 total women's awards. Even if you think (like we do) that non-blind board tests are bogus, these boards were still winning when the tests were blind. Our favorite T9 Women's board for this season is the Glam Rocker.

Technine Glam Rocker 2011 Snowboard

Two other great choices are the award winning Flow Venus and the Bataleon Distortia.

There are many other great options as well.

PS: Let us all know her shoe size so we can make some informed sizing suggestions.