Board cracking 6" back from nose ---what to do? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2010, 07:59 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Board cracking 6" back from nose ---what to do?

So I have a lovely day riding today, and when I get back to the car and brush the snow off the board, I notice a lovely crack in my topsheet about 6" back from the nose. Fiddling with it, I find that it's noticeable all the way through the board, aka not just the top sheet. I have NO idea why this would happen. I've ridden the board (Sierra Crew 160W) twice, and since I'm a noob I've stuck to groomers and a few runs on chopped pow. 40+ inch base, so no rocks. No park. No run-ins with dudes in the lift line. The only pressure I can recall putting on the nose of the board is when I got stuck on a cat track back to the base area (a run I had only seen skiers take, now I know why), and started doing the skooch.

My obvious choice is to send it back, but I'm worried first about turnaround time and second about how likely it is they're going to say, so sorry, we don't know what you did, but you did it. The House is now doing Sierra's warranty stuff (found this out by calling the warranty number), which would obviously extend turnaround time, and the type of crack doesn't look like it would be common, so they might say I did something.

This is the only board I have, and if it's going to take a month to get a replacement or worse yet the same board, it'll put a hole in my season. Is there any way of fixing this enough that the crack won't get worse until late winter, when I was planning on buying something longer anyway? FYI, I paid $150 for the board during the spring sale, so I don't have THAT much money in it. Still, it sucks that this decided to happen.

Pics follow. The second and last show the edge and the "ridge" in the base.