Raygun Wide vs Turbo Dream Wide vs ? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2010, 11:31 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Raygun Wide vs Turbo Dream Wide vs ?

If you've seen the post about a board cracking 6" back from the tip, you know there's a good chance I'm going to be looking for a new board, which I was hoping not to do before things got cheap at the end of the winter. I think I want to go with a rocker board, and these two are on my short list. I'm a novice (4 days last March, two so far this year), albeit one who is hoping to got 1-2 times a week through early April, so I don't want something that will hold me back, while not being something that'll kick my butt until I'm good. I will be riding groomers and powder. No park, not even natural jumps yet but I hope to change that soon.

I guess my main question is whether for my purposes the Raygun will work as well as the TD. The price of the TD isn't a killer, but I wouldn't mind saving the $120. Also, what about size? 160 or 164? Last spring I learned on a cambered 160cm wide board, and that's what I wound up buying (Sierra Crew, randomly broken, don't buy one). My first day of the season was in 16" of powder and trying to ride that short a board kicked my butt --I was pretty much standing directly over my back leg all day and it killed. My understanding is that rockered boards are floatier and support a heavier rider for the length, so should I stick with 160 for learning purposes or move up into the mid-160s (which is what I was planning to do with next board when I assumed my first one would actually last a full season)?

Also willing to entertain other options. I don't want to go over $500 for any reason at this point.

My stats:
5'9"
225 and dropping slowly; unlikely to ever go below 200
regular footed
21/0 stance
US 11.5 boots