Beginner here - I just bought my gear. Please tell me what you think. - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2010, 12:44 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Beginner here - I just bought my gear. Please tell me what you think.

First let me state that I've only been snowboarding twice. The first time was 12 years ago at age 14 and the second time was a couple of weeks ago. Needless to say, it was basically like my first time all over again. I am not able to link turns very well, but I was performing turns, albeit improperly most likely. I've done research and I plan on taking the proper steps to learn how to snowboard well. I may even take lessons. I plan on riding mainly mountain for now. Once I progress enough to where I can ride down the trails and link turns without catching an edge and busting my ass, I may want to do park but I doubt it. For the time being, I just want to get good and go down slopes and have fun. By the way, I'm 5'9" and ~160lbs with a size 10 boot.

Here is the equipment that I got. Please tell me if this will suit me. Is it too much board? Will this be a good set up for mountain riding?

153cm Gnu Carbon Credit board
Flow Five size large binding
And for boots, I got the Nike Zoom Force 1's in Dragon Red and Black in size 10. I probably could have gone with a 10.5 but they didn't have it at the Ross near me. I'm thinking these will be ok though, as my toe area does feel someone cramped but I wore them for 15 minutes and my feet didn't fall asleep. I had them heat molded at a local shop but I don't think I let the left one mold enough.

What do you guys think?
leecm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-20-2010, 12:55 PM   #2 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by leecm View Post