New board maintenance and prep - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2010, 10:26 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default New board maintenance and prep

Just got my 10' Arbor nightrain today. Went with Salomon F20 boots and Salomon Relay bindings. My first new setup! I have been borrowing a buddies burton cruizer for a few years now and finally decided to pull the trigger on some top notch equipment of my own. I really want to make sure everything is cared for properly. I watched the videos in the maintenance section and feel assured i can wax myself. Im going this weekend to perfect north, outside cincy, oh. We have had some snow, but being built on fake snow for the most part and the ice the east coast gets i want some help on when to wax my new board, it seems everyone prefers all-temp wax for my conditions-is that right?, and anymore pointers for assembly, long-term care, and etc for a brand new set-up. Thanks in advance...
charlie_hustle7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-28-2010, 05:10 PM   #2 (permalink)

bump, anyone out there...
charlie_hustle7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 07:02 PM   #3 (permalink)

Brand-new snowboards come "ready-to-ride" so all you really have to do is mount some bindings and go.

You could however, give it a hot wax, but since all snowboards leave the factory (already) waxed, you'll be OK either way.

It's been my experience that snowboards usually become noticeably slower on their third day of use after a hot-wax, so I generally try to get at least two days out of every hot-wax before I re-wax. As a matter of fact, I rode my 2009 Rome Design 165 for three straight days over this last Thanksgiving Holiday and it was noticeably slower on the third day than the first two...