Directional into Twin? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2011, 06:25 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Directional into Twin?

I have a older ride board, its a 2003 or 2004 Serum. It is a directional. ive been riding for about 4 years and am a fairly good rider with one exception... i am the world worst switch rider. yes yes you would think that after that much boarding i would be comfortable switch but the fact is i just never practiced it. but now i think im finally gonna force myself to learn. So my quesion is, is that if i setup my directional board as a twin (set the binding the same distance from the sides and duck it 15 and 15) hows that gonna work since the board is a directional?

Korea is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-02-2011, 11:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-

Good question!

That depends a lot on the design of the board. Many directional boards have asymetrical sidecut, asymetrical stiffness, asymetrical widepoints, asymetrical nose/tail shapes. Any of those factors or a combination of them can make the board perform poorly if center mounted. As a rule you do not want to move your riding position forward of a directional board's offset. An exception is if your board is really a twin but has some offset to the inserts. There are many cases where boards like that are called directional, even though they are not truly directional.

BUT, you can lear to ride switch on most boards. It is easier on a twin, but not required by a long shot. A comfortable duck stance also can help.
Wiredsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 11:26 AM   #3 (permalink)