Looking to buy first board - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2011, 09:14 AM   #1 (permalink)

Thumbs up Looking to buy first board

Hey,

I'm looking at buying my first board and seeking some pointers. I'm fairly new to snowboarding, had about 14 days out on the slopes a couple of years ago now, and a few days on indoor slopes. So I still consider myself a beginner.

I'd like a board which is good for both mountain riding, and also doing jumps/tricks on the mountain. The park might appeal to me later down the line, but I don't think I'll be heading into that territory for a while.

One board I very like the sounds of so far is the K2 Raygun. I've heard good things about the progress-ability of this board, and also reviews saying it's good for both jumps and mountain riding, and good for beginners as it has a catch free rocker?

I'm going again for a week next month, so would love to get this nailed.

What does everyone here think of the Raygun, and its advantages/disadvantages, and compared to boards in its price range. Any other boards you would recommend over the Raygun, and why?

I'd like to keep my budget to around 600 for board, boots and bindings. But will be able to extend it, if it means a much better riding experience.

Also, what does everyone think of the step-through bindings? Bindings such as K2 CTS/CTX. Are there any disadvantage of using these over standard bindings. I like the idea of being able to simply step into the bindings and only having to clip up the back. But what are the fallbacks? Do these ever come undone while riding?

My Height: 5'10"
My Weight: 60KG / 135lbs

cheers!

Last edited by ellhans; 01-14-2011 at 09:20 AM.
ellhans is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-17-2011, 03:54 AM   #2 (permalink)

Bump... Anyone?