Board Suggestions - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2011, 12:39 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Board Suggestions

Weight 220
Boot size 12
Riding style: Beginner
Age 21
budget: ~600
Your location of riding: Boone, NC (Sugar, App Ski, ect)

I started riding this season, and feel like I'm picking it up quick. I've gone on the slopes a total of 5 times including the first time 7 years ago as a kid. I really enjoy getting out there and seeing the improvement as I ride. I'm taking a class from my college which is basically a professional period of instruction for about 40 minutes once a week for 6 weeks. I bought a night pass and have been going as soon as the soreness goes away.

I've been lurking around the forums reading info and was looking for some advice for a board.

I'm borrowing my old roommates gear right now. We're the same height 6'2" but I'm reading its more about weight and I'm about 25 lbs heavier than him. I'm a bit over weight, and have started getting active again both on and off the slopes so I'll probably be shedding off a few pounds as I go.

I'm currently on a Forum Manual 159cm board. The roomate bought B,B&B for a good price. The boots fit snug and I really like them (the ratcheting type) and only had issues when I realized they weren't tight enough (started getting rear ankle pain). I think I need a wide board though. I had to duck out my feed so the toes of my boot wont hang off the toeside edge. The bindings are set all the way back. Bad sign?

He offered to sell me the gear after the season was over, but it's looking more like I need to have my own gear, especially if I need to buy based on my weight.