Another big guy needs a board thread - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2011, 07:17 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Another big guy needs a board thread

Hi all, love the site, been reading for about a week and have learned a great deal. Now I'm hoping the great minds here can help me pick out my first set up.

The gritty details: I'm 33, 6'1" and 250lbs. Boot size is a 12. I just started learning and have gone out for 6 nights of lessons so far. The terrain up here (Maine) is groomed packed powder, and at my local hill it gets prety icy. Being older and bigger I really want nothing to do with park riding, I'm mostly looking to stay on the trails and carve out some powder when it's available. I've been riding lots of different rentals as there were issues from night 1. We went 3 weeks before figuring out in was goofy, and another two before finding out my stance was small and so was the board. So finally the rental that worked the best was a 162 wide Dynastar, with XL Atomic bindings.

So I'm looking to buy my set up and stick between $700-800, and if possible I'd like to support my local shops. Only problem is that their supply of 162-163 wide boards is kinda small.

Here are the local boards:
163 wide K2 Anagram - $300
160 wide Burton Bullet - $300
162 wide Burton Deuce - $285
160 wide K2 Raygun - $340

Bindings I'm between two as of now:
2011 K2 Formula
2011 Rome 390

Boots I'm still clueless on as I've put more research into the board and bindings, but I think Im leaning towards the Salomon Savage, as I hear they are good for wide feet.

I think I'm leaning towards the raygun, but when I was on a 160 bord last it was not as easy to control, and frankly I'm worried about getting on and it just not being the right size. Any and all help or comments are welcome, I'll even take some noob ridicule .