Help me pick my first great board - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2011, 12:14 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Help me pick my first great board

So, I have been boarding for yearsóaround 14 years (starting at ~15 years old). I would consider myself an intermediate boarder (skill-wise). Iíve always lived in Utah, but Iíve never lived near a resort, so I would just go one, two, or maybe three times a year. Iíve owned three boards, and I would always just pick out a budget board that looked decent, because I couldnít justify buying an expensive board. Iíve owned two House brand (The House Burton Snowboards, Snowboard Boots, Bindings, Jackets, Pants, Clothing, K2, Ride, DC, Holden, Bonfire) brand boards, and I currently own a 164cm Head Defiance I (that was made in 2006). Iím 6í2Ē 180lbs with a 11 size boot, and the Head felt a lot better than the 152cm House brand board I replaced with it. This weekend I went boarding with some friends, and my buddy let me ride his Rossignol Experience (Iím pretty sure it was the mid-wide version). It felt SOoooOOooOoOoo much better than my current board, and I was even riding the Rossi backwards (he is regular and Iím goofy)! I felt so much more stable and confident; with all my previous board Iíve had to work so hard all the time to keep it under control.

Anyway, Iíve recently moved and Iím less than 15 miles to three great resorts and Iím in the market for a new board. For the first time I want to get a board where Iím not just trying to find the cheapest board that I think I could live with. I would like to get something nice, without worrying too much about the cost (nothing crazy of course).