Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums

Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/forum.php)
-   Boards (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/)
-   -   Is a Skate Banana good for me? (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/37887-skate-banana-good-me.html)

SnowManiac 02-21-2011 05:21 PM

Is a Skate Banana good for me?

Hey guys i am new to snowboarding and this forum and i have some questions. I have been boarding since the start of this season and i love it. Im 14 and i have gone out with my family over fifteen times this season. i have been advancing quickly and last week went to Stowe on a school ski trip and did Goat and Star and their respective glades. it was the best time of my life. my question is if the Skate Banana is for me. I live in CT and its really icy around here so i want a board that is has good hold on ice. the board i currently have is the 09/10 Burton Custom V-rocker smalls and doesn't seem to hold well. it is also a very flexible board and i was wondering is that is affecting how i carve at higher speeds because my carving doesn't seem as good as when i am carving at moderate speeds. i am am starting to learn Ollie's and butters and want to start park. thanks for your help in advance. Btw i am sorry if i posted this in the wrong section.

GorgeDad 02-21-2011 06:38 PM

Welcome to the sport and the forum!

I think the Custom V and the Skate Banana are about the same flex (medium) and the Banana may even be softer. Unfortunately for you, your 2 goals are at odds with one another. A stiffer board will certainly provide more stability at higher speeds, but a more flexible board will be friendlier if you are transitioning to the park and want to do tricks.