Amazing! But is it the rocker or Never Summer? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2011, 09:12 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Amazing! But is it the rocker or Never Summer?

First let me thanks forks on this forum for pointing me towards this board in the first place. I was in need of a new board and based on comments here, I went with a 161 NS SL. I have been snowboarding since 7th grade (20+ years), almost entirely freerideish/mountain (no park, no pipe). I needed to upgrade my 2004 Rome Anthem, which I have NEVER enjoyed riding (I just stuck with it over the years, trying to get it to be good for me)

I gave up recently and was looking at all of the ususal suspects for a guy like me (all stiff, cambered, big mountain boards) when I started hearing about the NS SL, and how even though it was rockered, and not a big mountain board, that it actually rode all mountain well, and that it could even hold up at high speeds on hard pack.

I pulled the trigger on a 161 and it arrived yesterday. I went last night and the conditions were not great--loose granular and ice. Right away I could feel how different the board felt from every other board I have ridden. Initiaing turns was beyond effortless. I was intantly able to get the board to do whatever I wanted. Compared to the way I had to fight and push my Anthem to do the same just made me sorry I stuck with it for so long.