raygun VS www rocker VS parkstar - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2011, 05:52 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default raygun VS www rocker VS parkstar

Hey all,

i'm looking for advice for which one of these boards I should get. I'm a beginner with 2 weeks experience, and looking for something mainly for the mountain to begin with, and to take me through my progressive stage. i need to have something forgiving, that will stop me from catching an edge and will be easy for a beginner. But also looking at the possibility of learning some jumps and buttering in the future while on the mountain. My learning priorities are:

1. Learn to ride better down the mountain, practising linking turns as they are sloppy, pick up speed and confidence
2. Learn to ride switch to the same standard I can ride regular
3. Pick up buttering, all that 360ing down the hill looks FUN!
4. Start learning jumps on the mountain, maybe some tricks.

From my limited understanding, this is the rough jist of these 3 boards, but correct me if i'm wrong:

Raygun - Best for all mountain, stiffer of the 3, and not as good for jumps/butter as parkstar/www, setback stance could make learning to ride switch more tricky, this has put me off a little bit.

WWW Rocker - Park only board, the most flexible of all 3. Best for jumps/butter. Will this mean that it'll completely suck on the mountain? I like the sounds of this board the most, as it sounds the most fun, easiest to learn on and the most forgiving etc.

Parkstar - Somewhere inbetween the two. Good for both park and mountain, but not better than the raygun for all mountain, and not better than the www for tricks/butter.