Freeride board for advanced rider - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2011, 04:10 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Freeride board for advanced rider

Hi guys! I am new to the forum and I am quite impressed since I've read some of the threads - there are definitely some dudes here that know what's all about.
My brother will be traveling to the US in two months so I he can bring me a board from there. Here in Europe the prices are so high...
A bit about my self - I am an advanced (not an expert) rider. I've been riding for about 10 years and let's say last 4 - backcountry only. These 4 years I've been riding the 2008 Burton Malolo 162 and I can say only positives when it comes to pow but as I've moved to some really technical riding last 2 years I found there are some cons which I would like to get around with my new board. What I mean by technical riding - some pretty steep ( >40)coluoirs and slopes. Usually avalanche risk in those kind of terrain is quite high so riding in the biggest pow is not the best option. What I wanna say is that I need more balanced freeride board which can perform good on hard-pack as well. I'll mention some options I've been thinking about and my constrains about them. If you can add some other brands/models and critically evaluate their pros/cons it will be highly appreciated!

Burton Suprermodel X
pros: Reasonable price, reviews suggest this board can offer the performance I am looking for.
cons: EST bindings - I'll need to hear really convincing arguments for this system in order to buy bindings(will need advice for Burton bindings, since I don't know them well) as well. However, this is still an option.

Rossignol Experiance
pros: Again it meets my requirements, Magnetraction.