Poppin the Cherry: Please Advise - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2011, 10:51 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Poppin the Cherry: Please Advise

Hey guys, Im a newb. Boarded twice, and really LOVED it. I want some of my own gear, not total newb stuff but something easier to ride that I can grow and advance with.

I am 6 ' 1 and weigh 240 lbs, shoe size 12, I only plan to ride downhill/all mountain (midwest so lots of ice...), maybe play with small jumps, but nothing fancy no parks. Would like to spend around $300 (or less) for board only.

I have been doing tons of research on boards but would like some input from you pros. Two boards have really caught my eye, the NS Raptor, and the GNU Carbon Credit. The raptor is probably out of my price range. I am really lovin the GNU CC, found one that I think is a good fit, 162 Wide, for just about $300. Does anybody have any input about this board? Good choice for my situation?

Any other board suggestions for my situation described?

I also would appreciate some input on bindings...I havent done a whole lot of research on them but would like to spend less than $150 (really want to conserve price here). I might be open to flow style bindings, but probably just want the traditional double strap style.

Anyways thanks to everyone who read this far, I know its a long post.
Slickdilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-15-2011, 11:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

You're new to the sport and looking at the Raptor? While I think it is a fantastic board, it's a bit too much for just getting into the sport. It'll ride you. I'd go with the Heritage or SL instead of the Raptor. That is if you still want to go with the Neversummer line.