Intermediate Snowboarder needing help.... - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2011, 07:24 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Intermediate Snowboarder needing help....

Brand new to the board, and have some questions that I need help with. I'm 5'11, 180, and a boot size of 11.

I have been riding for about 3 years now, and this was the first year I actually bought a board. Was on the K2 Raygun all year, with Cinch CTC bindings. Went to Utah and Colorado only this past year, and that's where I will mostly be going forward.

I really liked the Raygun, but as I got really comfortable with the board, I found that I wanted to go faster, but the board tops out. I also want more edge hold in the ice and hardpack.

So here is where I need help. I want to step up a board in terms of speed. I really just cruise around the mountain, and never enter the park. Just starting to get better a jumping, so wanting a board that can progress in that department as well, but mainly I really like going fast down groomed runs, as well as powder.

The things I am looking for are more speed, better edge grip (if it was ever icy, my edge was washing, and would wash some on hard pack in the morning). What I don't want to lose is the stability (this thing never caught an edge when just cruising, and was very easy to pick up speed without chatter), ability to make quick small turns, as well as longer carves, and the ability to do some jumping. It was also a lighter board, and would love to stay light as well, instead of getting heavier.