new snowboarder help - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2011, 09:12 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default new snowboarder help

sup guys, just wanna give a quick "sup", im fairly new to snowboarding (just got started last season), but im getting the hang of it pretty quickly, because i skateboard a lot. can you guys give me an answer to a quick q of mine? im going snowboarding this saturday (fresh snow at mountain high in cali haha), and my uncle's lettin me borrow his neversummer board. ive been using a lot of the rental boards at the mountains (burton) and some at sport chalet (ride), and they seem fairly light to me. the last time i went, i brought my uncle's neversummer with me to ride, but my day ended quickly. the board was surprisingly heavy to me, considering ive been using light rental boards, and i couldnt quite get the hang of turning with the thing. to make a long story short, i fell down due to its unresponsiveness, split my head open, and needed 8 staples to my head. i went one more time after that, using a RIDE from sport chalet, and i learned how to link my turns smoothly, and had some success on the intermediate slopes. so, im going again this saturday, and my question is, should i continue to ride the light rental boards or give another go with my uncle's heavy neversummer board? im thinking about trying jumps and hitting the park this weekend. does it matter how heavy or light a board is for turning, park riding, and jumps and tricks? sorry for the long thread, but thanks to any help in advance. looking forward to joining all you guys on black diamond sometime, haha.
Emerican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-23-2011, 09:27 PM   #2 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emerican View Post