A New Riders Take on Cambered vs. Reverse Camber - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2011, 12:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Veteran Member

Default A New Riders Take on Cambered vs. Reverse Camber

Hi Guys,

So I'm relatively new to snowboarding, and I've been reading these forums nonstop in hopes of learning all that I can about my favorite new sport. I consider myself to be a very capable all mountain rider (aside from moguls I handle any terrain, including black steeps, ice, etc.)who is slowly transitioning to park riding. Because of this, I went and picked up a Gnu Danny Kass 155 BTX (with banana rocker construction and magnetraction to supplement my other board, a Burton Primo 156.
I'm 5'8, 165, size 9.5 bootm fyi.

Anyway, I see alot of new riders looking for peoples opinions on which style of camber to learn on, which is easier to ride, etc. and so I thought I'd post this so that newer riders can learn from my experience and maybe make better decisions when buy their boards.

So I spent a few weeks riding the Burton, and while I loved how well i could carve and the control I felt with the board, I felt like it lacked serious pop and wasnt very playful..it was super solid and steady for charging down the mountain and held an edge beautifully while turning, but over the last few weeks my friend and I have been experimenting with smaller jumps and stuff and I was really interested in getting onto an r/c board that was a little lighter and more playful.