new AM board for a tall and skinny guy - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2011, 08:47 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default new AM board for a tall and skinny guy

I'm in the need of a new board and thought I'd ask for some advice. There is not a lot of choice around here, especially for the models that are frequently recommended in threads I found with the search.

Me: I'm 190cm and 70kg with size 12 shoe, so pretty tall and skinny. I started riding about 15 years ago while living in Lebanon. Over there it was mainly powder or groomed slopes with some natural drops. I've never been into riding tricks or big jumps, maybe partially because there where none, and partially because I'm a wuss. Growing older I doubt I'll be getting into them to any big degree in the future either. I used to ride quite a lot over there, or around 40-50 days a year. About 10 years ago I moved back to Finland. Here the slopes are really short, no powder and most people are into doing jumps tricks (maybe 'cause there is not that much else to do). I have not been riding very much lately, maybe since the slopes are small and fairly far away, and because I've had small kids.

Now my son is growing, and I've managed to get him excited about snowboarding. I'd like to get a new board too since the old one is pretty battered (hit a lot of stones while riding powder in Lebanon). Also my old shoes are a bit too small (and specific to the old bindings), the old board is too narrow so my toes keep catching (bearable on powder, but not very nice on hard pack).

I'm a bit late so most local shops with decent discounts have already sold out on the small stock they had of wide boards. I can find a few locally and in web stores I know...

- Nitro Pantera Wide 163 (price would end up being about 400€)