New Boarder looking for care advise - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2011, 06:04 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default New Boarder looking for care advice

Hey so I started riding this past season. After going a few times of hitting the slopes on rentals, I decided I was ready for my own board. I bought a 2011 Burton Joystick board with Cartel EST bindings. I hit up Killington, VT and a few other mountains around where I live (PA, an hour away from the Poconos) with my board. So I hit the slopes on my board for a total of 4 times. I got good enough for Blue and some black trails. No park... yet

Now my question is, should I wax my board already? I don't see any dry spots but maybe I don't know what I'm looking for. I'm planning on practicing jumps and park next season. What do I need? I googled it and I read that I needed wax (obviously), a hot iron, a scraper, a bronze brush, and a nylon brush...

Last edited by Carlos10704; 04-06-2011 at 07:56 PM.
Carlos10704 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-06-2011, 06:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

If you don't see any dry spots then you likely don't NEED to wax it, but I try to wax mine every few times up even if it doesn't look dry.

Your list of stuff looks good. Just watch the videos to figure out how it's done and the scrape like crazy until you think you're done...then scrape a little more.

I can't tell from your post, but are you planning on going up again this season? If not and the next time you ride is next year, put the wax on your board and don't scrape until you are ready to ride. It's a good idea to keep a layer of wax on your base over the summer.
schmitty34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 06:37 PM   #3 (permalink)