The right board for me? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2011, 01:02 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default The right board for me?

Hi all, I just bought a new board. I am a female 5'3'' and 120lbs, my current boots are size 6 Ride Onyx, which are a little shorter than most size 6 boots; I consider myself an intermediate rider.

I used to ride a 142 Kemper board( which I felt was too wide for my tiny boots) and currently ride a 142 Forum Star ( regular camber), which feels super light and is really easy to turn ( and has the perfect width), but it has some drawbacks as well; not enough edge hold on steep slopes and icy terrain and it starts to chatter when you go a little faster.

I enjoy making long S -turns and short quick turns down the mountain, and I recently started riding smaller pipes and I like to do "mini" jumps and some easy boxes.

Anyway, I went into the store looking at the Rome Vinyl 143 and 146 to see which would be a better choice for me and the clerk stepped it and recommended me a different board: 147 Roxy Envi C2BTX, based on what I told him I would like ( a stiffer board than than the forum star to increase stability etc.). He raved about this board and gave me a great deal (40% off) on this board, so I decided to go ahead and get it.

Now, when I compare the 2 boards ( Forum Star vs the Roxy), I see a big difference not only in size, but of course in stiffness. The Roxy feels super stiff, and on top of that it has magnetraction and the banana rocker, which I am not used to, so I started worrying whether this board might have been the wrong choice for me.

What do you guys think? Is the step from 142 to 147 too big? And from really soft to pretty stiff? From camber to rocker with magnetraction?