Cheap substitue for true bar? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2011, 07:04 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Cheap substitue for true bar?

I'm new to board maintenance, but in most other sports I've always preferred to maintain my gear myself. I've read that base leveling is like the hardest thing to do, and I'm not sure if I would choose to tackle that myself or not... but at the very least I'd like to be able to inspect it myself (chances are it is fine right now). But the true bars I've found are all near $50. Any ideas for cheap substitutes, like a construction level maybe? Though I'm not sure one of those is guaranteed to be flat... just level.
The111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-12-2011, 11:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

A framing square might work.
Sudden_Death is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 01:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Member

WTF do you even need a true bar it's not like you have a stone grinder and are tuning your base yourself in your garage. There is and I mean IS no reason to even caring if your base is 100% flat as you are not riding a mono ski hard boot set up.
Old 07-13-2011, 02:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Veteran Member

Just ride your board across a parking lot, should get that base perfect
Qball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 02:58 PM   #5 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BurtonAvenger View Post
WTF do you even need a true bar it's not like you have a stone grinder and are tuning your base yourself in your garage. There is and I mean IS no reason to even caring if your base is 100% flat as you are not riding a mono ski hard boot set up.