Too little overhang - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2011, 06:59 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Too little overhang

Is there such a thing as too little overhang?

It got me thinking after reading this article Snowboard Width - Huh?. Where it said that there should be up to 0.10 cm of overhang on either side barefoot. This is after the foot has been angled as per rider's preference.

Is it recommend to have some overhang to be able to control the edges effectively?

Boards: Never Summer SL 154, Burton X8V 151.5
Bindings: Union Force SL, Burton Malavita Reflex
Boots: Salomon Dialogue
jas_kidd32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-18-2011, 09:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

I'm not an expert, and I don't have tiny feet, but I would guess that you would want your boots to at least reach the edges of the board. This would be for control purposes. It would be hard to edge a turn if your feet don't reach the dges I would think. It's not just the toes you need to look at either. You want your boot to be centered so the overhang is equal in the front and back.
It never gets old, if you're in it for the passion, and not the fashion
NWBoarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 11:07 PM   #3 (permalink)

Yes. But as with anything else, take the article's calculation as a general guideline. I know people who prefer to ride a regular width board with more overhang than a mid-wide or wide. Others, me included, are okay with wider boards that may take a little more working in exchange for less overhang.
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 11:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
With extra cheese.