Went riding today .. stance question. - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2008, 03:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Netstalker

Default Went riding today .. stance question.

I am a beginner and will not be doing jumps or tricks for a very long time. I have actually learned how to link turns now without falling, which impresses me atleast.

my question is I ride normal ( left foot forward) front foot 15 degrees, and 0 degrees on back foot. My right leg always hurts after, pain on the right side of my calf. I feel this would probably stop if I rode Duck stance, but would riding duck hinder me in learning? like I said I am a beginner.

and advice would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-19-2008, 03:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

Whatever stance works for you works for you. Riding duck will not inhibit your ability to learn. So play with your stance and see what you like.
killclimbz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 03:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
snowcraze

I had the same problem a while back. I ride goofy and my outer side of my right foot hurt too. So my stance used to be 15, 3 and i got it changed to 23, 3. It made all the difference in the world.
So go ahead and shift that back foot out. plus i think riding duck would be easier if you were gonna start learning switch.
Old 02-19-2008, 04:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
livelyjay

I ride with a normal stance, with my lead foot around 15 degrees and my back foot around 8-10 degrees. I only started riding like this two seasons ago when I started learning how to ride switch.
Old 02-19-2008, 07:08 PM   #5 (permalink)