Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums

Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/forum.php)
-   Boards (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/)
-   -   Evo or alternatives (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/40596-evo-alternatives.html)

Slush Puppie 08-16-2011 01:01 PM

Evo or alternatives

I'm considering a 2012 Evo 154. 'on paper' it seems like a good choice for me, good quality, covers the mountain but shouldn't be too stiff or challaging to ride. I've spent many hours researching. And I know that's a poor substitue strapping myself to it.

I'm a beginner. Can link turns, do the same switch, basic flatland tricks.
Feet size 8
Wight: 168lb
Riding type: Groomers, want to progress in the park.
Riding location: mostly europe
bindings: considering 390 boss, raiden phantom or burton malavita.
boards ridden so far: Option Franchise 153, Option Mirror 153

I'm aware that this is an expensive board and also that I should probably look to rent a while to try lots of boards. Partly I'm impatient but partly I don't want my own setup for consistency and willing to take an educated risk.

Also happy to get a cheaper board if that's the best option for me. Really I don't mind if I waste some money, it's my time I don't want to waste.

So my question has two parts:

1) would the evo be a great/disasterous choice
2) what other boards should I consider? The Arbor westmark/blacklist are also on my radar along with a couple others.

Thanks if you can help.

Milo303 08-16-2011 01:08 PM

A soft reverse camber board is a great choice for a beginner. They're very forgiving.

The Evo is a good first choice if you have loot and want a board that will grow with you.

I got my girl an Infinity for her first stick. Would've liked to have gotten something even softer though

chupacabraman 08-16-2011 02:00 PM

Of those 3 bindings: the 390s will be the softest, the Phantoms mid, and the Malavitas the stiffest. (all are good bindings)