Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums

Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/forum.php)
-   Boards (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/)
-   -   Another board question: K2 Raygun, just right or not enough? (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/40889-another-board-question-k2-raygun-just.html)

Mack211 09-02-2011 12:18 PM

Another board question: K2 Raygun, just right or not enough?

I'm in the market for my first owned board. I'm leaning towards the K2 Raygun but not sure if it's the best to grow with for the next 2-3 seasons.

Background:
I've been boarding between 6-15 days each year for around 14 years now. I just moved up to Colorado with my wife to finish her grad school. We bought Epic Local season passes to hit the slopes as much as possible. I'm finally in the position to make buying a board worth it. I would consider myself just intermediate and stuck there, since I only board a few days each year. I'm looking for a solid board that I can use for the next 2-3 seasons.

I've heard great things about the Raygun but I've also heard it is somewhat of a beginner board. I am looking for something I can grow with. It needs to be an all mountain board with possibility to do 15-25% park.
Will this board do well for someone at my level and not want me to buy another board next season?

What would an equivalent Never Summer board be to the Raygun?

I appreciate the comments / help.

-Mack

walove 09-02-2011 12:31 PM

Raygun is right for you, it won't hold you back at all. a neversummer sl or legacy if you need a wide, would be comparable as a all mountain board. K2 makes really nice boards so even though the raygun is a lower price point its high quality construction with cheaper materials.

BurtonAvenger 09-02-2011 12:34 PM