Lost in the wood: Need help choosing a board - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2011, 11:12 AM   #1 (permalink)

Cool Lost in the wood: Need help choosing a board

So first some background knowledge, I have been snowboarding for about 3 years, but only renting as I got into it right before I moved away from Colorado to Texass. I picked it up quickly, venturing into the park and backcountry with my crappy rental boards, and I am looking for my own.

I am 6' 3"
160 pounds
and a size 13 shoe (12 boot?)

Basically I want a board that will do a little bit of everything until I move back to Colorado (8 months) and can start getting boards for more specific purposes. Something I have looked at is the Burton Custom Camber 158W, I think this is a good choice for me, but I probably won't be jibbing or anything like that on this board, mostly just some jumps and rails and a lot of new groomers all over Colorado. I also want it to be able to handle backcountry.

I know it's 90% rider and 10% board, but if you Snowboarding Gurus have any thoughts on that board or others please let me know!

Thanks for reading!

Last edited by TexassSnow; 09-21-2011 at 11:28 AM.
TexassSnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-21-2011, 04:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

You are on the right track for sure. The board is in your size range, fits your desired riding, and you definitely want a wide board. Also the Custom X has one of the most solid long-term reputations with many experienced riders using it year in and year out.
Sounds like you plan on doing mainly freeriding... groomers, fun-runs, powder, and then the odd jump-session. I'd suggest 156-160cm for your size & style of riding.