Help me decide between: Banana Magic, Attack Banana or Rome Mod Rocker - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2011, 03:10 PM   #1 (permalink)

Arrow Help me decide between: Banana Magic, Attack Banana or Rome Mod Rocker

I have been riding for a little over 10 years. I'm experienced and feel 100% comfortable on the hill. I haven't rode much for the past 3 seasons though, but I'm getting a season's pass this year and plan to get back into things in a big way. I'm really excited and getting some new gear. I ride the smaller mountains near Whistler, BC like Cypress, Seymour and Hemlock Valley. We get some powder days, but it never gets terribly cold. It's not crazy icy very often. Usually just kind of in the middle in terms of conditions.

There are a lot of new board technologies that are coming out or starting to mature, that were not around when I got my last board. I have a Gnu Altered Genetics 158, from about 2005/06 I believe (I can't find the year it is online). It's a great deck, but it's getting dated. It has regular camber and I'm pretty sure an extruded base. Nothing too fancy except for the core materials and some other things. I just want something new to get me more excited.

First of all, what I like about my current deck:
  • Responsive when carving
  • Decent in powder
  • Pretty good pop
  • Feels good on jumps and landings
  • decent all around

What I don't like:
  • Feels just a touch stiff. This is good when I'm hauling ass, but I don't get a chance to do that often (see below)
  • Feels a touch too big. Spinning feels a little like I'm lugging too much around
  • It's not the easiest to maneuver when going slow. I'm talking buttering around and just messing around. I guess this is because of its stiffness.