New and need help!!!! - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2011, 10:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-

Default New and need help!!!!

So here's the run down....

Like the title says, I am new to boarding. I have been a skier since my youth, but need new gear and I am willing to make the change.

5'9" 190 lbs (my weight varies from 180 to 200)

I have been doing a bit of research, and even though I know manufactures vary a bit I think I will need something around 160cm (please correct me if I am wrong). I went boarding for the first time last year and I had a great time...fell about a hundred times in the first hour or so...but after that I was making down most of the runs without falling, able to link turns, etc...stopping was just getting there when my wife broke her wrist and we headed to the hospital.

I went to a local shop here in Michigan and the guy recommended a Burton Custom Flying V. Not sure if his recommendation was a good one or not? I am looking for an "all-mountain" type...everything here is groomed, but we have a trip planned for colorado in february (this is an anuual trip)Can you please give me some options for boards????

I am a quick learner, and very athletic. should have at least 3 or more weekends of boarding before our trip out west. If you need more info, please let me know.
quicklx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-05-2011, 11:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Official SBF Blogger

Whereabouts in Michigan? There's a Michigan regional thread here which is pretty active with people always trying to arrange meets & discuss gear & make fun of each other. Good times.