First Board purchase - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2011, 04:17 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default First Board purchase

It was a dark and stormy night when I first began looking for a board, now in I have given up trying to navigate my way blindly though dogfunk and random websites and have started looking around for some help.
I am a beginner-intermediate, maybe(not really sure how to classify myself)? I have been riding in the winter for several years now going for about 2 weeks average a year. I have gotten to the point that I can ride most paths on the slopes and have begun trying to go down harder off the road stuff but I'm weak on jumps and anything more than bunny hops and ollies cause me to fall).

However I'm trying to get into park stuff. I have always been hesitant to go on jumps and rails especially since I know a guy who got paralyzed but this year I plan to mostly hit the park starting with small jumps and boxes hopefully moving up to bigger jumps (and halfpipes if I find them) after my marathon session this year (maybe try rails but I have no idea). I am looking for a good park board but I want a board that I can use to ride the terrain with my buddies and go off track whenever I feel like it.

My stats are
6'6"
230 lbs
size 14 with socks
19 so I'm not growing
I have about 500 bucks to spend (or more) but I'm not looking to just burn money.
I'm going to be riding mammoth, big bear, and hopefully mountain high (if anyone knows what that it in SoCal).