First board that is mine... Board and Binding advice? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2008, 02:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Shazkar

Question First board that is mine... Board and Binding advice?

Basic info:
Around 5'6", around 140 lbs, maybe a bit under...
I snowboarded for around 3 or 4 years, not super often though. However, that was a long time ago, and this winter I went snowboarding for the first time in almost 5 years. Luckily, I hadn't forgotten everything, and could get down a blue only falling a couple times.
I live in the New England area, never been out west to board, though I would like to.

So basically I'm a relative beginner with enough experience to survive, but not be good. I want to get back into snowboarding, and I want to buy my own board for once, instead of just renting.

I know that I should go try on boots on my own to see which is best, and I plan to buy some solid boots that fit me well, and won't get those online.

However, since there are some pretty good deals online for boards and bindings... would there be any problem with me getting those online? (Say from places like sierrasnowboard or whiskeymilitia... haha, I want to know what to get just in case there is a really good deal on WM, so I can know whether or not to buy it and won't have to waste time thinking).

So I guess what I need to know is... what should I look for? Any particular suggestions?
And what size board do I want, and should any bindings work for the boots I buy later on?