New Stick for the Mountain - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2011, 11:27 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default New Stick for the Mountain

What's good!

I've been on the same board for about 4 years and I am looking for a new setup. I am an intermediate rider with a good amount of experience. I live in Michigan where the snow isn't that great, but I have a Capita Stairmaster 156 to ride out here in the park. I need a new board to bring out west every year, the Stairmaster sucks out there. I am 6'1", 180 lbs, size 11.5 boots.

I want some input on the newer technologies as in core material, bases, etc, good for the mountain, as I havent looked at boards in quite some time. What really matters? This board would be strictly for freeriding and hitting rollers and kickers on the mountain.

These are important to me:

1. It should be stable at high mountain speeds, so fairly rigid
2. Good pop!
3. It should have enough flex to still be able to jump around on it though and feel nice to land on
4. Good in powder and wide enough for my 11.5 size boots (but I duck foot a good amount to each side)
5. Be long enough for stability at speed but short enough to throw a 3 off a roller without resistance

I have a set of Burton Customs, but might consider some new bindings to keep those on the Capita.
I might go used on the board because my budget is about $300, so I really just want to get an idea of how flexy/rigid I should go for this kind of riding, length, width, binding type, etc. I'm thinking about a 159 or so? Any boards and bindings in perticular I should look for? Maybe last season's to get a good price?

Thanks for your input, looking forward to the season!!
ilikebass is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-06-2011, 09:30 PM   #2 (permalink)