Is Burton really that bad? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2011, 12:06 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Is Burton really that bad?

This is my personal experience so of course you fine folks are more than welcome to speak your mind and share your own experience. I've been riding since 2000 and pretty consistently 30 days a season. I would say I'm pretty advance doing 360s and 180s, nothing crazy. Mostly I just like to goof around, bombing down runs, a few flat presses, and a rail here and there in between.

My first board was a Salomon Fastback, heavy but very stable board, then I got a Burton Dragon, at the time I thought it was the lightest/best board I've ridden. I love it. Then I got a Palmer Classic to goof around in, but I must say even though it had a sintered base it's not a good snowboard. Then a Ride DH, and another Burton Dragon and finally I finally bought into the hype and got a Bataleon Riot.

Base on the different snowboards I've owned and ridden and waxed/maintained, I can say that the Burton is by far the best quality board I've owned. I can't say about Burton's high end boards these days since I have never ridden them. But in the beginning of the millennium Burton was making board that was innovative and high quality. Their bases are usually sintered and my Burton Dragon had stainless steel edge so they were very strong even though they were made thin to save weight. I finally had to retire my Dragon after t-boning the side edge onto a rail and cracking the side edge.