Oops...Did I go too large with this board purchase? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2011, 01:56 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Oops...Did I go too large with this board purchase?

Hey guys, just joined:

I went to Skidazzle last Friday and finally found a Burton Nug I was looking for (Was also trying my best to find a K2 Raygun(couldn't) and a..parkstar?) used at $250. Was ridden twice and had some wear but looked pretty good to me(But what do I know? I'm a beginner haha). It was the only Nug at the show so I had to jump on the sale! It's a 150cm board, which when standing is just under my nose. I'm 5'3" male at 165-170 lbs. I first heard of the Nug when Burton's board finder matched me to the 142cm Nug and also recommended a 146. The site also says the 150cm is to be paired with their 'large' sized bindings, I need mediums. Did I defeat the purpose of this board by going so big? Dunno how 'medium' bindings will do on this board either. Any advice would be very welcome!

By the way, I tried searching for a general Burton Nug thread to tack this post on but couldn't find one after 5 pages so had to make a new thread.
Dim Mak 1470 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-07-2011, 02:52 PM   #2 (permalink)

The Nug is designed so you can downsize about 10cm from your normal boards. Given your weight I believe you should be better with a 146. As you said - you might have defeated the purpose of this board . But as long as it's fun and rides well, you made a good deal anyway. You should be able to sell it for a similar price if you don't like it.
Basti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 02:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned

you will be fine on the 150....FINE! Just ride it and quit worrying!

edit, go a little wider with your stance on a NUG...you might enjoy it.