Beginner looking for an "advanced" board - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2011, 04:04 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Beginner looking for an "advanced" board

I'm new to snowboarding and want to buy my own board now. Despite my experience level, I want a board thats more sophisticated and beyond my existing abilities. The reason is I did learn pretty quickly my first few times snowboarding and I don't want to limit myself with a beginner's board. I usually do real well with physical/sports activities I try to learn so I'm not worried about getting frustrated with a more advanced board. My budget I would say is around $500, but of course, if I can save a few bucks, that's always good. From the research I've done and the experiences I've had, I want a shorter length snowboard around 145cm to 149cm. I'm 5'7" 140lbs. I like to have a wider stance because that's where i feel most comfortable for now. I don't have a preference yet on which foot is my lead foot, but when I was messing around my first few times I went snowboarding, I felt comfortable with both and I like being able to ride switched. So a true twin board is preferred. I enjoyed TRYING to learn some tricks. I go snowboarding with friends that are mostly beginners so I will still be riding every run on the mountain with them and some powder. N

So basically, I'm a beginner/intermediate snowboarder that is serious about the sport and want to learn tricks at the park but still want an all around board that does well in powder. I'm not looking to go super fast, I want a board I can have great control over. For now, I want to be able to switch quickly and smoothly, do butters, decent carving capabilities, and in the future jumps, rails, and boxes.

I went to a few local shops and they recommended these:

-Lib Tech Box Scratcher 2012 147cm