Newbie Needs Advice - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2011, 08:54 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Newbie Needs Advice

Hello everyone. I am a new member here and I need some advice. I am brand new to snowboarding and am looking for my first snowboard. My girlfriend is into the sport and wants me to become involved with her. I want to go with her and support her but in reality Iím not going to become a serious snowboarder. I will probably only go with her a half a dozen times per year. But I want to go and take part and I may end up liking it. So with that being said I am in the market for a snowboard. My finances are somewhat limited and I would like to get the best snowboard I can for the cheapest price. I have been doing a lot of research online but thought I would ask for your opinions.

I am 6 feet tall and weigh 185 with a size 12 shoe. Based on what I will probably be doing, I would want an all mountain board. And I think I should get a board between 160cm and 164cm and should get the wide model. But I am unsure what to buy.

I donít live in a snowboard friendly area. Dickís and Sports Authority are the only places in my town that carry snowboards. Dickís has a 5150 Vice that is in my price range of $200. The Sports Authority has a Simms Quest from 2009 for $180. Looking online I have found Lamar has a few boards in that price range. The Trooper, the Tripper and the Ultra are comparable to the Vice price wise. I also saw a Morrow Fury and a Sapient Yeti. Unfortunately I have found very little information online about any of these boards. Some of these boards appear to be older models like the Simms one I found. I believe that is why they are cheaper. The model year really doesnít matter that much to me.