New freeride board wanted - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2011, 04:22 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default New freeride board wanted

feel free to chime in here;

I'm 6'0, 150 lbs with no gear on, size 9 boot
I've been riding casually for 15 years making a couple big trips a year out to Alberta/BC mountains. I live for making hard, dynamic pencil thin carves, glade riding, and generally going pretty fast. Blues and Blacks..as long as there aren't any moguls, i'm all for it.
I practically never hit the park..if I do it's to hit the easier table tops- nothing serious. I'll pop off natural rollers/features fairly often, though.

I've gone from a '97 Burton Custom 155 that i loved to a 2009 Fish 156 with the s-rocker nose which i love even more. That thing is hella-fun in the trees and for hauling ass on groomed runs (go-figure!). I find it carves super well and has fantastic transitions from edge to edge..i can roll onto my back foot during a hard carve and launch myself onto the other edge..super lively transitions compaired to my old custom.

So far I find the fish to be a perfect on-the-ground board, however it's not great for popping off natural features, so I'd like to get something a little more versatile but still hard-carving like the fish. Something I can attack the steeper choppier stuff and just power through it with confidence.

I'm mostly familiar with burtons stuff, but i'm open to other brands. I think I'm most interested in a camber board, probably with a fair amount of taper.
Considering; a malolo, a custom X, something like that. A local shop guy suggested the nitro pantera as an all-mountain ripper.

what do you guys recommend? thanks!

Last edited by Jinjabeard; 12-20-2011 at 04:45 PM.
Jinjabeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement