Buying my first board..need advice! - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2011, 06:10 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Buying my first board..need advice!

Hey everyone..I've snowboarded for a few times last year and I am looking to buy my first board this season. I am still a beginner but I will be snowboarding a lot this season. I've been looking for a while and I am really interested in the 2011 Flow Venus from last season. I was wondering if anyone could help me decide if it's a good board for me. Here are some questions I have before I made my final decision:

1. Will a 143 board be too large for me? I am 5'5 and weigh 100 with a shoe size 6.5. I rode a 138 and a 145 before and I felt 138 was a lot easier to maneuver, but the website I was looking at only has a 143 board.

2. I will be snowboarding a lot this year so is it a board that I'm likely to grow out of quickly?

3. Since there are few reviews on this board, what are some disadvantages of this board?

4. My other options are:
2011 Burton Lux 139 (reduced camber, not V Rocker)
Sierra V Spot
2012 Flow Silhouette 144
Are those good boards for me compared to the flow venus? What are some other options? I have a budget around 250.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated!!
eeendless is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-20-2011, 06:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by eeendless View Post
Hey everyone..I've snowboarded for a few times last year and I am looking to buy my first board this season. I am still a beginner but I will be snowboarding a lot this season. I've been looking for a while and I am really interested in the 2011 Flow Venus from last season. I was wondering if anyone could help me decide if it's a good board for me. Here are some questions I have before I made my final decision: