New Board - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2011, 08:36 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default New Board

Weight 170
Height 6'
Boot size 13
Riding style Probably about 70% mountain, 30% park
Age 17
budget Under $400
Your location of riding Connecticut(Mostly), and Massachusetts

I've been riding for about 3 years and I feel my old 5150 board (about 2 years) needs to be replaced. Too stiff for my liking and it's beat up. I've been looking at my options and am unsure of what to get. And I have a couple questions

Questions
1. Is it really that hard to ride all mountain on a jibbing board? I was thinking about the Ride Kink but I do not know how the flex of the board will effect me when I'm carving, not in the park.
2. Is it possible to do park features in a rocker? Will it make it difficult? I was looking at a Rocker
3. Regarding the K2 Raygun, will the 70% Flat and 30% Rocker slow me down? How does this effect my speed?
4. I was also looking at Salomon snowboard but I couldn't find much information on them, anyone ever ridden one of them before?
5. Also, I saw Blank Snowboards, but was told that they have the same construction as my 5150 and would not really be an upgrade.
6. Obviously I am looking at wide boards, but what would a good length for me be? Using a "Snowboard Length Calculator" I googled, it calculated to be 160, but that seems a bit long.

Boards I am looking at
1. K2 Raygun
2. Ride Kink
3. DC PBJ
4. Salomen Drift, Riot, Salvatore Sanchez
5. Blank Snowboards

Thanks!
mike7822 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-25-2011, 11:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

Anwers
1. No its really easy to ride all mountain on a jib board, it's still a snowboard and will go where ever you point it, its just easier to do that stuff on an all- mountain board.