My first board: Is there any reason not to... - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2012, 03:00 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default My first board: Is there any reason not to...

...go with an intermediate board?
Im a newbie to snowboarding but i tried it for two years now and i really really like it. Is there any particular reason to start off with basic equipment and then move on to more advanced/expensive equipment?
I can find starter boards (and bindings) for quite cheap but i would like to star of with something more advanced.
After asking here in the forum about binding recommendations im leaning towards the higher end models. Same story with the board.
I want to get the Ride Antic as my first board (and medium flex bindings which i haven't yet concluded on). I ride all-mountain.
So, is there any reason to start off with something cheaper? Will it impact my learning curve if i start off with something more advanced? i.e. will it make learning harder? Is there any other reason why not to start with a more advanced kit?

Apologies for the n00b questions, i know you guys/girls have heard such questions a thousand times but i presume everyone started from somewhere at some point and i would also like to get the most out of my hard earned cash.
spinn3rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-03-2012, 03:11 AM   #2 (permalink)

No you'll be fine dude. My first setup was way beyond what I'd call beginner and If anything better gear is going to make it easier for you to learn so I wouldn't fret about buying a nice setup.

I would however caution you really research and look into what riding your going to do/what type boards fit your riding style since buying the wrong board in these regards will make trying to learn more difficult.
Old 01-03-2012, 07:28 AM   #3 (permalink)