Freeride board to replace ancient K2 Recon - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2012, 01:21 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Freeride board to replace ancient K2 Recon

Hi all,

I am sorry for the boring question, I am sure it is repeated all the time.

I have been boarding for about 17 years I think, I also ski from time to time. Discomfort, weak legs and getting old and tired of sitting in the snow doing up my bindings has had me skiing more and more as the years go by. I went to Swizerland over the Christmas hols and fell back in love with boarding.

I ride an ancient K2 Recon 161 with drake matrix bindings. I have never found snowboarding particurlaly painless but figured the pain was worth it. This week I rode my brothers 154 ride board with lower salamon bindings and it was a bit of a revelation more comfort plenty of speed faster turns and no problem floating in powder.

I am 5 foot 10 (177cm) and 9.5 stone (133 lbs 60KG) and 33 years old.

I decided to buy a new board when I got back but am bewildered by all the new tech! No wonder some people can get away with murder pressing their boards where my stiff as hell deck is very unforgiving. (yes I know a new board will not transform me into a jib hero!).

I don't jump or jib, could get into the odd flat land trick if they were a bit easier though. I tend to run groomers and powder, if it is end of season ice I would ski instead probably. I want something forgiving (not twitchy) fairly fast and good in powder.
I was thinking of going a fair bit shorter than my current 161, around the 155 - 157 mark or even shorter??

So what should I buy, money is not a problem really as it will be with me for a fair few years.

Libtech Travis rice (maybe too hard work I want to chill a bit not charge hard all day) or attack banana or dark series