New board question - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2012, 09:37 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default New board question

I'm very new to snowboarding (just learning how to carve), and I just bought my first new board. I bought a 151 Ride Rapture. Here's my question... I'm 5'5", 110, size 7 foot, female (obviously?) and the guy at the local shop talked me into the 151 because it would be more stable. Stability is pretty darn important to me, as I caught a pretty bad edge a few years ago, and broke both bones in my arm. The old board I was riding was a 10 year old, hand me down Ride Control 149. It was heavy, and stiff, and I felt like I was trying to manhandle it. The more I keep perusing these forums, I'm wondering if the board I bought is a tad large? The only other size it comes in is a 147, which I wonder if that's too small. I haven't taken the board out of the plastic yet, as I just bought it 3 days ago. Please advise. Thanks!
forestfalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-08-2012, 11:38 PM   #2 (permalink)

Ya for your size, getting the 147 would be better.

What getting a longer, more stiff board does is it gives better stability at faster speeds. Since you're just starting out you won't really need this in a board.

I'm sorry to hear you had such a bad crash. The edge catching which flipped you has more to do with rider error. When you're starting out, part of learning how to snowboard is learning how your edges behave on snow. In your case as you found out, it can be really painful...