Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums

Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/forum.php)
-   Boards (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/)
-   -   Which holes do I put my bindings in? (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/4571-holes-do-i-put-my-bindings.html)

SilverK20A3 03-11-2008 04:09 PM

Which holes do I put my bindings in?

Hello all!

I'm new to snowboarding, just got all my gear. Got a 158" Forum Recon board, Burton bindings. I'm 5'10" and ride goofy. I've rented for most of this season and didn't really pay attention to how they set the board up for me, as I was more concerned with falling, haha.

The reference position on my board seems too far apart for me. I have a general idea of how far apart my bindings should be for my height (20-22"?), but my concern is, which set of holes should I use? In other words, how should the bindings be positioned along the length of the board? Does it have to be perfectly symmetrical? It's a directional board...

I read somewhere if I'm riding in deep powder, I should position the bindings further back. I will be riding groomed fake snow runs in Southern California... (I've seen ppl snowboarding in t-shirts around here, heh) Just looking for some beginning pointers.

Thanks!!

pyro13g 03-11-2008 05:50 PM

Jump up and down a few times and land with your knees slightly bent. Measure distance between feet. That is your natural athletic stance and should be a good starting point. My front foot is +12 degrees and back foot -6 degrees. That's were the pro shop set them for me as a beginner. If you go to wide a dance and too duck footed it puts added stress on the knees that they are not built to handle. If your knees are buckled in towards each other, I'd adjust it so they are not.

laz167 03-11-2008 05:52 PM