How does lenth effect how a snowboard feels? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2012, 08:40 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default How does lenth effect how a snowboard feels?

Hey,

I am relatively new to boarding, first season. Ive been out 5 or 6 times, starting to get comfortable on blue hills and challenging black hills.

I may look to upgrade from my $40 used board to something newer. I've had my eye on a used Arbor Element cx for a while but its 3 CM longer 158, than what is recommended for me, a 155. Its half the retail price, and was a demo board.

How will this effect how the board rides? How would a shorter board feel for the sake of discussion?

I am 5 11" 140LBS, and I only freeriding, but have thought about trying some park.

Thanks.
Therminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-23-2012, 08:52 PM   #2 (permalink)

A shorter board will be easier to turn but less stable at speed and straightaways, while a longer will be harder to turn and more stable at speed and straightaways. Plus a longer board will cut through choppier conditions better.

Regardless of length there are very many different technologies that go into boards in order to make them geared toward a certain style or riding, usually park vs. freeride. Make sure you are buying the style board that you want as well as the correct length.

Edit: at 140 lbs, unless you are looking for a board to keep a few years while you pack on weight, I would look in the range of around 150 cm board, give or take a few cm. Maybe a wide board if you have around a size 12 foot, but not always.

Last edited by Efilnikufesin; 01-23-2012 at 09:03 PM.
Efilnikufesin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 08:57 PM   #3 (permalink)