Beginner here. Need some buying tips. - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-13-2008, 09:59 PM
GeoffG

Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
Beginner here. Need some buying tips.

I've gone boarding twice now, and since it's ending the end of the season, I think Im going to try to pick up a cheap setup and save myself the rental costs next year. Im looking to spend around $300 on boots, bindings and board. I really have no idea what to look for. I don't need the best stuff as I will probably be staying at the beginner level for a while.
Im planning on hitting up Sport Chek on the weekend to see what deals they will have. Im 5'10, 170 lbs, and have around a size 10 boot. So what do you recommend for me? What should I be looking at? Any general info would be appreciated. I don't know how knowledgeable the people will be at the store, so hopefully I can get some insight before I head there.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-13-2008, 10:08 PM
Augie09

check out sierrasnowboards.com, you can easily get a great setup right now for around 300
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-13-2008, 10:23 PM
GeoffG

I don't know if I really want to buy online. Im not too keen on buying boots as they probably fit differently between companies. The last thing I want is to get the wrong size boot. I would much rather try things on first, so I would prefer to buy them at a store and maybe pay a bit extra.
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-13-2008, 10:33 PM
Veteran Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Good advice never to buy boots online, or at least try em in store first. Bindings and Board can be bought online though...there shouldn't be too much of a problem with that.