Time for a new board? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2012, 08:31 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Time for a new board?

I started riding the first of this year after taking 10 years off from any snow sports. Rented a board, fell in love again, went out and bought a new Salomon Ace Magnum 2010/2011 for next to nothing. I have been every weekend since and a few weekdays where I hit the local "ditch" close to work. I now know what type of riding I like and am wondering if its time to get a more advanced/better board, or just stick with what I got and learn to use it.

I am 6' 190 lbs. Currently I am hitting small jumps, kickers, and the board wide boxes, but also enjoy taking the lift all the way to the top, and riding down to the park instead of park runs all day. I am older so wont be getting big air or doing a lot of advanced features, so I am looking for something a little more forgiving but still want to push myself.

I live in Chicago and plan to take one trip out west a season, which is in a few weeks.

Here are the All mountain boards I have been checking out
Yes Basics 159 (Local shop has it for under 300)
Burton Sherlock 160 (around 400)
Burton Process Flying V 159 (around 400)
and after reading a ton of posts on here the Signal Omni gets a lot of mention, though seems to get knocked a ton for bad laminate.

all thoughts, questions, recommendations are welcomed.
aspence is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-22-2012, 09:38 PM   #2 (permalink)

I'm about your size, maybe five pounds less, and this year I've been riding a 155 K2 Parkstar and a 158 Burton Custom Flying V, I like them both for the kind of riding you describe.
Rufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 09:47 PM   #3 (permalink)